The Straight Line

2 years ago, I started this blog as a travel diary when I first mustered up my courage to move to Japan by myself. It wasn’t easy. I graduated from the top university, landed myself a job in the public sector and made a stable income and my folks happy. I was going according to what they wanted my life to be and possibly what most Singaporeans do. I wasn’t unhappy with my life but I wasn’t contented too.

Every time I open my Facebook page, all I could see were pictures of my friends in some place not in Singapore, having fun (I know Facebook creates these deceptive imagery because no one posts pictures of their ugly sides). I was envious.

One more thing to note was, I had never left Singapore until I was 21. Yes, you might not believe it because nowadays kids in Primary 1 already been to Tokyo Disneyland and they can even write essays on it. The first place that was stamped on my passport was Malaysia, because my friends wanted to celebrate me getting out of Singapore so they took me to Johor Bahru. My 2nd country that I visited was Japan and then Japan.. Japan.. Japan almost every year.

My first Japan trip was a homestay trip organized by the school and it was memorable. You might ask why I have never been able to get out of small squeezy Singapore, well, the answer is simple. My parents could never afford to take me on trips. I have never been on a holiday with my family which kinda cultivated my character where I like to go solo or with friends I guess.

Well, you always want what you don’t have. I just had a promotion at my job in the civil service and I was also seeing a guy at the time. It was fine and everything was going well but it just didn’t feel right.

One night, I lay in bed and I tried to recall what I have done in the past 2 years at my job and in my life since university. Shockingly, nothing came to mind. I still remembered how I broke out in cold sweat and my palms became clammy as I tried so hard to flush out my memories.

Nothing.

And then I pictured myself that if tomorrow I were to die, I would be stiff like this on my deathbed with no memories to cling on to for the past 2 years. I decided that I cannot live my life like this anymore. I quit my job and the guy that I was seeing then even told me that I was stupid. I flipped my life over and my parents were unhappy with my decision. It felt like the whole world was objecting to me destabilizing my stable world.

Even so, I went to Japan.

I lived there for half a year, studying the first 4 months in a school and then worked for the remainder 2 months. It was a whole new experience for me, living on my own.

Then by pure luck, I managed to get a cruise ship job with one of the cruise ship companies who owns the most innovative ships. And my life changed.

360 degrees.

In 2 years, I went to Asia, Western Europe, Eastern Europe (backpacking), Eastern and Western Caribbean. I have been to the most beautiful beaches you could possibly lay your eyes on. Every day, it was a different place. Every week, I meet new people, make new friends from countries I used to hear of but never been and never know how it’s like.

I have learned so much and my life is no longer a straight line like it used to be. It’s now a curve with hyperbolas, twists, dips etc.

So, what I’m trying to say that is.. take that first step.

Because you will never know where that first step would lead to.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

