Barely two months

It has been barely two months since i arrived in Okayama city in Japan. People asked me, “out of so many cities in Japan, why Okayama?” Well, actually i had planned to do a homestay during my entire period of studying in order to save some money from renting a house and save some time of finding one. But still, i am living on my own rented apartment now and i shall spare you from the long story at the beginning.

As a matter of fact, I did go ahead with my homestay in Kurashiki city, Okayama prefecture. Let me share with you some pictures!

16 April 2013

Ario mall just next to Kurashiki station.
Ario mall just next to Kurashiki station.
Clock tower at Ario mall.
Clock tower at Ario mall.
Kurashiki station
Kurashiki station

I really like this mall! There is a supermarket by 7-11. I didn’t know 7-11 has a supermarket! It is huge!!

Anyway, fyi, the supermarket is called Itoyokado. (<3<3<3)

When i took the train from Okayama station to Kurashiki station, the saddest thing is that no one helps you with your luggage! Well, i’m sorry to expect to receive help from other people but the truth is that i was lugging a medium luggage case, a long black bag which i looped across the trolley handle and a backpack that is nearly 10kg? The thing is, the black bag kept slipping off the luggage case and i was having some difficulty getting on and off the train. There were many people beside me but none of them approached me to help. It’s kinda sad… But later i found out that Japanese people are really shy at offering help to people like me (especially guys towards young girls). Oh wells.

Fast forward a little, i met with my host and she had prepared a room for me!

my room!
my room!
and a wardrobe!
and a wardrobe!

I had also brought along some omiyage (souvenirs/ gifts) from Singapore.

2013-04-16 16.03.18

2013-04-16 16.03.15

Haruka chan splaying out the impressive variety of packet sauces and bak kwa products
Haruka chan splaying out the impressive variety of packet sauces and bak kwa products

Bak kwa (bee cheng hiang) and Prima Taste sauce packs never fails! They made my host very happy!

I had begun school the very next day and also had to do the necessary paperwork. Since my host is a doctor, she often goes on business trips (medicine making/seminars) and sometimes she takes me along with her.

I went to Hiroshima! Her hometown (Kure 呉)

20 April 2013

Harbour at Kure
Harbour at Kure

2013-04-20 07.47.03

Well, Kure is a place famous for its harbours. It is famous for its Yamato musuem too which displays submarines and marine-related crafts. Google it and you will know more.

2013-04-20 07.46.46

Here, i met up with Mayu-chan (left in pic), Haruka-chan’s cousin. Mayu showed me around Kure and brought me to Youme town (a shopping mall) where Haruka could finally get her hands on the Aikatsu (アイカツ) game machine! In case you’re wondering, ‘Aikatsu’ is the name of an anime which is about idol auditions.

I was pretty lucky to have gone to Hiroshima during this period of the Sweets Exhibition. It is only held once every 4 years (like the Olympics) and you can basically find all the sweets and snacks (お菓子)you can find in the whole of Japan in this one place! Amazing right!

2013-04-20 11.15.36

Some pictures taken at the exhibition:

2013-04-20 11.15.39

2013-04-20 12.33.46

2013-04-20 11.19.01

2013-04-20 11.21.39

2013-04-20 11.23.28 - Copy

2013-04-20 11.38.52

2013-04-20 12.06.38

2013-04-20 12.06.52

2013-04-20 12.25.44

Later on in the evening, i met up with my host and her parents.

Host's Dad! Super friendly and chatty man
Host’s Dad! Super friendly and chatty man
Host's mum (left) and my host - Yoko (right)
Host’s mum (left) and my host – Yoko (right)

Guess what we’re having?

R-A-M-E-N!!!!! Yes!! Ramen!!!

2013-04-20 16.59.36

2013-04-20 16.57.40

Host's mum timing the cooking of the noodles. She is very serious in this.
Host’s mum timing the cooking of the noodles. She is very serious in this.

I was told that the noodles were actually made by Yoko’s dad who owns a soba factory just right below their house. He wakes up really early every morning to make the noodles. This ramen is by far the BEST i have eaten. No kidding! Yoko also told me that the dashi (soup stock) for their ramen cannot be bought easily elsewhere because they only supply to one place which i have forgotten.

I shall take a break and end it here for now. Stay tuned for Miyajima!

One thought on “Barely two months

Leave a Reply

